You may hear the term, “statutes of limitations,” quite often when the law is involved–but what exactly does this mean?
Basically, these are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a civil lawsuit and vary by state. The time limits usually depend on the severity of the crime and on the legal claim of the case.
There are two main points to a statute of limitations:
- The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or “accrues,” like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed
- Once the statute of limitations has expired or “run out,” you can’t file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)
Here is a breakdown of the many common civil claims and crimes in the State of Ohio–but be sure to always stay updated on these statutes, as laws always change:
|Medical Malpractice (depending on when it’s “discovered”)||1 or 4 years|
|Assault and Battery||2 years|
|Personal Injury||2 years|
|Wrongful Death||2 years|
|Contract (verbal)||6 years|
|Contract (in writing)||15 years|
|Arson (depending on facts of the case)||1, 3, or 20 years|
|Assault (depending on facts of the case)||1, 3, or 20 years|
|Murder||No time limit|
For a more complete list of Ohio Statutes of Limitations, contact a Cleveland injury lawyer at our law firm to learn more.
Comments are now closed