Breaking Down Ohio’s Arson Laws
What do you think of when you hear about arson?
If you’re thinking about someone deliberately setting a fire, you’re right on point, but there are more specific details to this criminal action.
In the Ohio Statute of Limitations, a perpetrator can face 6 or 20 years in prison for committing arson, depending on the facts of the case.
Breakdown of Ohio’s Arson Laws
If you knowingly create a substantial risk of physical harm to the property of another: without their consent or with the intent to defraud, or create a substantial risk to a park, preserve, forest, or similar lands you may be charged with arson.
Ohio’s Arson Punishments
The charge you face depends on the property in question. The potential sentence ranges from:
|1st degree misdemeanor||Up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000|
|3rd degree felony||1-5 years in prison and fines up to $10,000|
— Ref: ORC 2909.03
Comments are now closed