Fighting For You

Serving Cleveland & Northeast Ohio

Filing a self-insured workers’ compensation claim in Ohio

On Behalf of | Jan 5, 2022 | Workers' Compensation

A workplace injury can result in significant physical, mental and emotional pain, in addition to the stress caused by not being able to work. After the immediate treatment of the injury, the next step for injured workers is typically filing a workers’ compensation claim.

Before filing your workers’ compensation claim, it is important to find out if your employer is a self-insuring employer. If they are, this means that your employer has their own workers’ compensation program, and you must follow the rules of this program.

What this means for you

Self-insured employers must comply with Ohio workers’ compensation laws and regulations as part of their workers’ compensation program. However, if you sustain a workplace injury from a self-insured employer, your employer has the power to make several decisions.

Once you file your workers’ compensation claim, a self-insured employer is allowed to make the initial determination regarding your injury and any additional decisions surrounding your medical care. This means your employer gets to decide which medical treatments or procedures are necessary, the amount of your medical allowance and decisions about any benefits you receive, such as decisions about compensation.

The good news is that your employer will pay for any medical treatment deemed to be directly related to your workplace injury. The bad news is that you and your employer may disagree about what treatments are directly related. If you receive medical treatment or services that your employer determines are not directly related to your injury, and you believe they are, you can take that dispute to the  Ohio Industrial Commission.

Submit documents within the deadlines

To receive reimbursement from your employer for your medical treatments, documents related to all medical treatments must be submitted within 2 years of the date the treatment was provided. Your employer then has 30 days to pay the balance owed.

If you have a self-insured employer and sustain a workplace injury, it is important that you receive the proper medical treatment so you can focus on healing and get back to work.  Just as important is getting the best legal advice and representation from a seasoned workers’ compensation attorney who can protect your rights and be a helpful guide to the process and help ensure your employer’s decisions are in your best interests.